CigarSpike Review

spike

A few weeks ago I received a friend request on Facebook from the folks at www.CigarSpike.com and was a little intrigued and curious.  My first thought was: what’s the difference between this and, say, the awl on my Swiss Army knife, or any other sharp object to pierce the cap on my cigar?  I’ve been using a single blade cutter for years, needless to say I was skeptical.  I decided to take a $3.00 chance on 3 of these and they arrived in a #10 envelope in today’s mail.

These are a heavy plastic, similar to a heavy guitar pick.   I tried one tonight out on a Montecristo #5, which had a pretty flat head.  I moistened the cap a little and pushed the Cigar Spike into the cigar.  It just seemed to make too small a hole, so I gave it a little twist to open it up.  before_after The draw was a little tighter than I prefer, which I attributed to being used to the full cut of the guillotine cut.  I was getting a decent smoke volume though, so I soldiered on.  The Monte #5 was a tasty little cigar which was a few years old.  It had that little bit of a citrus tang to it that I’ve noticed before in the smaller Montes.  This is a small cigar, 4″ x 40 ring gauge,  which was burning surprisingly slowly.  I was curious at this point so I pulled out my cutter and lopped off the end.  This particular cigar was a little tight, so it wasn’t a real good test of the Spike.  Still a darned tasty cigar, but I’ll  try the Spike again on my next cigar.  I have some Camacho Corojo Candelas that  usually have a  pretty loose draw that will be interesting to try this on.  I put one on each of my key rings, mostly because I can see myself losing these easily, but I can see an advantage to having something to put a hole in a cigar if I’m caught without the necessary tools.  I’ve certainly spent $3.00 more foolishly than on three of these Spikes, I’ll keep trying these and report back after further testing.

Until next time,

CigarCraig

Postscript 10/3 – I tried the Spike again with the Camacho that has had a very loose draw and it really made a difference.  The cigar burned well and smoked with the firmness that it should.  There seems to be a place for this tool, the trick is knowing in advance how the cigar will draw.  I’m guessing pierce first, then cut if it seems restricted.  — CC

One comment

Leave a Reply

